Australian Skilled Migration

Skilled Migration

The Skilled Migration Stream is for people who have skills or abilities that will contribute to the Australian economy.
Skilled migration is the largest of the migration streams and currently accounts for a large percentage of the overall migration program. There are four main types of skilled migration:
1.General Skilled Migration
2.Employer Nomination
3.Business Skills Migration
4.Business Talent

Click here for further information about permanent and temporary visas and the different Subclasses available.

Currently, the Australian government is giving priority to the following groups of applicants:
•Skilled visa applicants sponsored by employers;
•Skilled visa applicants nominated by state and territory governments; and
•Skilled visa applicants in occupations that are on the Skilled Occupation List (SOL).

However, independent (non-sponsored) skilled migrants are still the largest part of the skilled stream.